Do you agree or disagree? Rather than help children with their schoolwork, parents should encourage their children do their work independently

Education for their kids is always a significant concern for parents, and the quality of homework is highly associated with academic success. 、Consiquently, whether or not offering help for their kids' homework is under heated discussion among parents. Some of them argue that assistance is necessary and could bring considerable benefits. Nevertheless, from my perspective, lending students a hand for their homework is not a wise decision. Instead, students should try to finish their homework independently.

On the one hand, independently doing homework is vital for improving the skill of critical thinking and creativity, which is essential for future academic success. By providing a convenient and ready-to-use method of solving problems, parents tend to help children get answers quicker instead of letting kids exploring their unique ways of dealing with topics. Students, in the meantim6yhe, prefer to remember more straightforward methods rather than push themselves hard to practice the skill of logical thinking. For instance, when solving math problems, most students tend to use formula if it is given while few of them will try hard to figure out how equations are formed and why it is proper to use it. As a result, parents will derive students passion for reasoning via providing help.

On the other hand, assisting students with their homework will interfere with the process of teaching, which will make it harder for students to absorb what they should learn. Homework revising by parents will give teachers false fed-backs for school teachers, thus misleading teachers to make unreasonable plans. For example, if most students get help from their parents and generally are doing well in their homework, teachers will receive a false message that students have great understandings for the materials and thus speeding up the teaching process.

Admittedly, with the help of their parents, students will be more confident in their studies and may become more passionate. However, their confidence comes from the illusion that they are doing great on their schoolwork, which mostly results from parents' hard work. Once they get grades on exams that are below their expectation, they will become even more frustrated and start to doubt themselves.

In summary, students should finish their homework independently because by doing so, they will practice their skill of critical thinking, providing teachers straight fed backs, as well as building confidence not based on false self-recognition.