Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One can learn a lot about a person from the type of friends this person has.

Nowadays, with the spead of life incresing significantly, people are trying to find a quicker way to distinguish what kind of people a person is by observing his or her friends. Many people think that one's friends are good indications for judgement. Nevertheless, from my perspective, one cannot learn much about a person from the type of friends this person has.

First, it is difficult somtimes to control what kind of people to be friends with. Especially when we are working or studying with others, we are forced to make friends with our classmates or colleges even it gose against our intention. My friend Marry, for instance, worked at a food shop on campus last year. While she was working, she met with another students, Ann, who was also an employee there. Unlike Marry, who is kind and warm-hearted, Ann is a mean girl who enjoys to talk ill things about other students and professors behind their backs. Friendly as Marry is, she was not willing to make friend with Ann. However, Ann was eager to know Marry and followed everywhere Marry went. Fianlly, Marry had to introduce Ann to others as her friend. It is obvious that Marry and Ann are totally different people, and it would not be fair if Marry were to be regarded as the same people as Ann is. As a result, I argue that one can hardly know anything of a person from people around him or her.

In addition, people tend to have many types of friends, making it impossible to tell exacty what kind of people a person is. Out of many people's expectation, friends with contrary personality could be close too. For example, my roomate and I have a really good relationship with each other, despect the fact that we have different character. My roomate, Betty, who is crious about the word, masters many skills, such as painting, singing, and even making small films. Nonetheless, she is a lazy student, who are happy to pass a class with a low GPA. On the contray, I am a hard-working type, but also rigid and boring at the same time. These difference never influence our friendship since we became friend three years ago. We now still eat together, go to class together, and sometimes go to movies together. In this case, her personality is never a good indicatior of mine. Consequently, I disagree with the idea that one can learn a lot from the type of friends this person has.

Admittedly, people who are similar to each other tend to be friends. However, these kind of a friends could only consist a small partion of all the friends a person could have. Therefore, it would be rediculars to tell a person from his or her friends.

In summary, based on the reasoning above, I support the idea that one cannot learn a lot about a person from the type of friends this person has.