Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Your job has more effect on your happiness than your social life does

With the development of the modern society, more people are well paid and living a welloff life, in which process happiness, instead of success has become individuals’ top priority and life philosophy. It is no surprise that some people, if not a majority, may therefore argue that social life is playing a more important role in our happiness in this era. However, in my opinion, it is our jobs that have more effects on our happiness.

In the first place, the main reason for my propensity is that we work to make money, which is used to cover all the living expenses, including our social activities. There is no doubt that the more purchasing power we have, the better service or even life quality we can afford. Consider, for example, without a decent job, people may suffer from poverty and starvation. They must work for extensive hours or do lots of extra exhausting jobs, such as collecting and selling used cans and bottles, even at weekends and during holidays in order to make a living. In this case, what kind of social life could they have? Without basic needs satisfied by good jobs, seldom is there any happiness derived from social life. That is to say, a good job is the basis for happiness.

What is more, the mood got in work also has a huge influence on our happiness. Apparently, on average, we have to work at least 40 hours a week, and the time we spend in working is much longer than that in social activities, which makes working more important in our lives. For instance, my father is a general electrical engineer who is always confronted with lots of problems in his work. Every Sunday when we go to the suburb for a picnic, I can easily guess how his work is going on by observing his mood. If he talks a lot and interacts with us more, I know his project is going well. Otherwise, there must be something confusing or annoying. In consequence, I believe that our jobs can influence our mood, and without a good mood we cannot feel happy or even enjoy our social life.

Admittedly, there might be some possibilities that our social life does have an influence on our happiness. For example, we can be relaxed after a refreshing drink in a bar, or we can meet some friends with similar interests with us by playing basketball together, which will certainly make us happy. However, social life is only a small part of life, and as presented above, without doing very well in our jobs, we cannot afford our social life and keep happy for a long time, since we have to worry about so much about jobs and lives.

In conclusion, based on the reasoning above, I have to maintain that the job has more effect on our happiness than the social life does.