It’s the best way for teachers to help students become more interested in a subject by explaining how this subject can help students live better outside of the school.

Interest is the best teacher, and students tend to perform well if they are interested in their subjects. Some people argue that the best way to inspire interest among students is to explain the usage of such knowledge and how the understanding of it will help students in real life. Nevertheless, from my perspective, illustrating how subjects can help students live better outside of the campus is not the best way to interest students.

On the one hand, many subjects appear to be useless in real life. For instance, mastering in history may not be a determining factor for students major in Finance. What's more, Math seems of little importance for art students. Admittedly, these subjects will extend the knowledge range for students and may improve the skill of thinking in the long run. However, with limited time and energy, students are more likely to devote themselves to subjects that are most efficient to them. For example, a finance student tends to study harder in Bank Management instead of history, no matter how the teachers explain the benefits of learning it.

On the other hand, the difficulty of some subjects can hinder the students from being interested regardless of how useful those subjects can be. For instance, programs like Physical and high-level math can be abnormally complicated and hard to master. It will be hard for students to show any interest in the equations of these subjects unless the students initially have passions for them. Students may study hard not because they like these subjects, but because they need to pass them to graduate.

Besides, there are many other ways to attract students other than informing them about the usage of these subjects. For example, teachers can deliver lectures more humorously by making jokes. Also, incentive program such as scholarship could encourage students to study harder. Meanwhile, increase the chances for students to participate and get involved in classes could also be an effective way to draw attention for students.

In summary, helping students to become more interested in a subject by informing the usefulness in real life to students is not the best way to make students more interested in study material as some subjects seem to be useless in real life, and some topics are too hard to be interesting for students. Besides, many other ways are no worse than telling the usage of knowledge to students.