124)Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to study history and literature than it is for them to study science and mathematics. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The learning of past events and literature by scholars is as crucial as gaining knowledge about science and arithmetic. In my opinion, studying history and literature helps to understand the evolution of ideas and their practical consequences. Simultaneously, it helps to understand human beings and how they coped with the situation of that time and be proud of the marvel of human genius.

First of all, gaining insights in history and literature helps in understanding the past, culture, language, traditions, and ideology. Every era has posed various challenges and it was up to the people to cope up with them and develop solutions. By studying those issues and measures, helps the present generation to fully understand the current scenario. The wisdom from the past should be learned and implemented. In addition to it, the blunders should be totally avoided. For instance, understanding the reasons for World War I, II can help the present generations to act prudently and avoid any conflicts that can lead to armed conflict and bloodshed.

Secondly, to understand the importance of studying literature has been portrayed by Leo Tolstoy, who firmly believed that reading literature revolves around two central issues: Who are we and how shall we live. The brilliant works of William Shakespeare, Charles Dickens, Helen Keller, T.S Elliot, Rabindranath Tagore, and Loa-Tzu has always inspired and helped us understand our identities and purpose of this life.

Lastly, history and literature have always portrayed, the works of human genius. Right from Harappa and Mohenjo-Daro civilization, the pyramids of Egypt, the Taj-Mahal in India, the architecture of Romans, the British engineering are the standing examples of human accomplishment.

In conclusion, I think that that history and literature should be made mandatory in schools so that children can have a strong foundation. After that students should be free to choose any subject according to their choice.