The advanced medical technology will expand human’s life. Do you think it is a blessing or a curse?

Nowadays, it is increasingly acknowledged the relationship between medical technology and longevity. While some people believe that it is good to extend life expectancy with medical technology, others advocate that too longevity may cause many problems. As far as I am concerned, having an appropriate length of life is more beneficial in respect of this issue.

People who emphasize the importance of longevity are primarily focusing on having more time to fulfil one’s dream.

The main justification of this view is that living longer means people can stay with their family longer and enjoy a happy later life. Nevertheless, this argument cannot hold water.

According to statistics, too many elderly people will result huge burden on a family’s financial situation.

It is evidently reasonable for me to believe that too longevity is more disadvantageous in our society. It causes increased in population and creates so many issues like poverty in people and the lack of basic facilities. The main reason is that, it will form an aging society in which more and more people live longer. Hence, the aging population will put some financial pressure on the government and medical system. For instance, the government will not only need to build more aged care center, but also need more carers and services.

In a nutshell, this controversial topic never fails to attract the public attention, we may safely reach the conclusion that it is disadvantageous to use medical technology to extend life expectancy.