Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

It is argued that bad treatment against senior staff at work place because of their age must be made illegal. This essay agrees to bring the age discrimination under the umbrella of law. This essay first explains the reasons for this unfair treatment and then examines how these can be avoided.

The respect towards the senior workers at office is highly unlikely conspicuous. This age discrimination starts with employment offering itself as most companies are not ready to take seniors as they are come with a high cost. Unfortunately, these seniors are neither treated fairly for being identified as pink slip receivers. The more senior one becomes at work place the more expensive they could be for the organization and hence the company is very reluctant to promote them. All these actions can be tagged with the same name called age discrimination. For instance, a study conducted by the University of Melbourne found that at least 75% of staff of age 50-60 years are facing this discrimination at their work place.

This behavior can only be reduced by making it as illegal. The law must ensure to provide enough freedom for the older workers to lodge complaint against the managers followed by providing enough evidence to support their argument. The company must be punished as per the law with heavy penalties if proven guilty. For example, LinkedIn website published the results of a recent poll participated by senior workers of major corporate companies across the globe and shockingly 98% of them are looking for the government action to bring a law suit.

In conclusion, the government must make the age discrimination at work place as illegal and thus provide assurance to older workers.