Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Nowadays, age discrimination is getting attention by public since most of the elders are educated. Some think that age discrimination should be made illegal while some people think that it is just a natural process of society. This essay will discuss why discrimination against older workers should not be made illegal.

The development of nations is usually built on their economy, and economy is built on the work forces in every industry. The economy of a nation will be impacted if most of the work forces are older workers because it is inefficient. Just imagined if older workers are managing a factory, will the factory be operated well, not to mention that nowadays the society required computer skill, which is not expertise of most of the elders. Hence, by eliminating older workers, the economy of a nation will grow faster.

Apart from that, young generation will not have opportunity if older workers never retire. Every work place has their limited employment position, and young generation will remain jobless when there is no open vacancy available. For example, the unemployment rate in Malaysia is as high as 10% because their retirement age is 70 years old. This is not only impact the economy of a country, but it is also impacted our next generation life.

It can be concluded that by practicing age discrimination, the economy of a nation will be raised and young generation will have more opportunity on working place. In my opinion, discrimination against older workers should not be made illegal.