Birth rate is low and many countries are facing with the ageing population. What are the main underlying causes and effects of this global issue?

The importance of birth rate, which frequently generated a great deal of heated debate, has recently become even more controversial. Some proponents believe that the low birth rate in some countries is attributed to globalization and this phenomenon causes the aging population which has a negative impact on the development of countries' economy. This essay will elaborate on the causes and effects of the problem.

At the outset, there are myriad reasons why the birth rate has been reduced in various nations but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that, in the era of globalization, many people in present days spend their time on working and they do not have enough time for family and raising children. According to a new study, the proportion of the unmarried population in Japan has increased in recent years although its quality of life is much better than in the past. Obviously, the globalization creates more opportunities but it makes people busier and be possessed in their works. Thus, they do not have time for cultivating a family.

Moving on to consider the effects, some scholars suggest that the aging population has become a critical issue that poses governments all over the world. One of the effects is that there will be not enough labors in the very near future. Moreover, the increase of old population requires social services such as health insurance and clinical workers. Therefore, this will slow down economic development in the nations and it is difficult to resolve the issue if there is no long term solution right now.

In conclusion, taking these points into consideration, from my personal perspective, I am inclined to believe that governments should tackle the birth rate issue as soon as possible because it is predicted to be a disaster in future.