In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

In the recent years, the use of credit cards has been increasing sharply, which shed light on the controversial matter of the consequences of its uses. The rapid changes in the technologies allowed the credit cards to surpassed the traditional money. In this essay, I will examine the full extent of the implications regarding this method of payment.

The use of credit card started as an innovative approach and after a few decades took over the financial world. This surprisingly increase was triggered by the efficiency of the system, where it is no longer necessary to carry money in the pockets. On top of that, credit cards opened the world to globalization, by allowing international payments regardless the currency. This is exemplified by the information provided by the world bank, which states that more than 95% of the international transactions are performed using credit cards instead of sending money. Ultimately, one of the biggest benefits of credit cards is its traceability.

On the other hand, there are some liabilities associated with credit cards that affect millions of people every day, with devastating outcomes. Firstly, the cards can have serious security issues where the privacy can be violated by individuals from any part of the world. Secondly, the most severe issue is the possibility to steal the identity of the credit card holder, and wire all the money into a non-trackable account. According to recent data, during 2017 more than 2 million of people in the USA were victims of cyber attacks, where skilful hackers stole all their money, leaving the cardholders hopeless in front an invisible fraudster.

In summary, it was argued the effects of the use of credit cards instead of the traditional method of payments reaching the conclusion that there are divergent arguments related to this approach from extremely positive to dramatically negative.