Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

The issue of traditional written exams has received considerable critical attention. The debate about its efficiency has gained fresh prominence with many arguing that its benefits are evident. However, an arguable weakness is the arbitrariness in its structure with negative impacts on the overall performance and education of the pupil.

The past decade has seen the rapid development of written review in almost every aspect of the student life, from the beginning to the end the students need to be in front of a piece of paper under timed condition to prove their value under the educational system measurement. However, this method of analysis of the student progress has a number of limitations. Firstly, it is claimed that student cannot perform well under stressful conditions. According to a study performed by the University of Cambridge, there is a negative correlation between stress and overall performance, and the data conclusively shows a decrease in performance of up to 35%.

Another problem with this approach is that it fails to take other cognitive skills into account rather than memory. A serious weakness of the existing method of testing students currently is that lack of a wide variety of skills, such as empirical knowledge, which cannot be assessed with an exam. The methodological approach of most written exams only takes into account the theoretical knowledge that only covers a minimum range of the learning process. A considerable among of literature has been published on the effectiveness of empirical exams compared with the traditional form. These studies proved doubtless the outstanding benefits of combining the theory and practice.

In summary, this essay has discussed the evident implications of the written evaluation reaching the conclusion that it is not efficient enough to have a comprehensive approach in order to evaluate all the student skills.