Cons of Social Media for students, teens & society.

Social media has become essential part of our lives and society in last few years. Social media is negatively affecting students and teenager’s physical and mental health, relationship and social life. Today teenagers cannot imagine their life without being on social media and sharing everything with everyone. This essay will discuss drawbacks of social media and thus lead to a reasonable conclusion.

To commence with, the first and foremost, many children have become victims of the cyberbullying over the past. As anyone can make fake accounts and do anything without being trace and it has become quite easy for anyone to bully on the internet. Teenagers get threat, intimidating messages and rumours can be spread in masses by one click which eventually create discomfort and chaos in family and in the society. For example, recently in UP police caught one person who created hundreds of fake accounts and blackmailing to teenager girls and asking for money. Thus, social media is creating chaos in teenager’s life.

To continue with, social media is affecting health of children also as children spend more time social media on virtual world so they are not active in outdoor games and become more passive which results in obesity and weaken eyesight. That is also affecting their relationship with family and parents as children prefer to spend more time with their online friends. For instance, my friend spent a lot of time on Facebook which affected his physical and his mental health as he easily gets influenced by people’s comment. So, social media is affecting students and teenagers’ health and relationship.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that social media is negatively affecting life of adolescents, students and creating chaos and discomfort in the society.