Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of differential education, i.e. splitting students into different classes

according to their academic performance.

Differential education is common in some parts of the world, especially in Asia. In Asia, academic performance is considered to be extremely important and differential education is believed will increase the competition level amongst students in order to achieve better academic results. However, there are certainly merits and demerits on differential education and this essay will be discussing both sides.

One of the advantages of differential education is that it motivates the students to become assiduous in learning. When your classmates are equally intelligent as you, it would make you study harder in order to academically outrival them. Back in highschool, I was in a class with better academic achievements than the other classes and this motivated me to put in more effort in schoolwork in order to excel academically amongst my peers. Therefore, studying amongst people who achieve similar academic results would bring beneficial impacts.

When students get placed into a worse class, it labels them with incapability and promotes the feeling of shame. This is a disadvantage of differential education. Realising the fact that there is a group of students who are much more intelligent than you is very sad and it can crush an individual’s self-esteem. Research has shown that most of the labour class workers are from the bottom class in various countries. Being placed into a bottom class can be despairing and creates a feeling of unworthiness.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to differential education. This issue needs to be viewed in different perspectives as the situations can be complex. However, I believe that there is more harm than benefits regarding differential education.