Do you think cashless society is realistic and why? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

The role of cashless society in spending money among people of the modern society is widely debated, with many people claiming that electronic transactions help people because of its convenience, security features and the development of technology. In my opinion, this notion merits serious consideration and I will explain why in this essay with relevant arguments and illustrations.

There are myriad arguments in favor of my stance. The most significant one is that it is easier to track all the transactions when you need, specially to catch illegal transactions. In addition, it improves the transparency of the day today activities. Apart from that, cashless transactions help not only to reduce the risk of carrying bulky cash but also to avoid the cash theft. For instance, underpinning the aforementioned discussion, an extensive study of Age states that after implementing this new method, crime rate in Australia has reduced from 70% to 40%. Needless to say, all these arguments justify why some people believe it has more positive outcomes to the society.

However, some people does not have full knowledge about digital transactions and cyber security which leads to face difficulties while using this method. For example, 60% of old generation are not aware about the new technology and this may cause so many problems related to their day to day transactions. Hence, it is apparent, why section of people think that it is not realistic.

In the view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that benefits of cashless society are too great to ignore because the society needs to accept the technological changes.