Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or is it the responsibility of producers?

In this modern era, over packaging of products have become a norm. Some might argue that it's the responsibility of consumers to strictly avoid over packaged products, whereas others believe that the producers are responsible for over packaging. This essay will discuss why producers should mainly be liable for over the top packaging.

Over packaged products results in higher cost which directly affects the buyer. If producers reduce the amount of unnecessary materials used in packaging then price of the product will automatically decrease, which would directly benefit the consumers. For instance, all food joints use paper bag and paper sheet to pack the items which significantly reduces the price as compared to a box. When looking at this example, it's evident that reducing the packaging on a product where is not needed have direct benefits to consumers and producers should understand this.

Other than the fact that over packaging raises the price, it also produces garbage which negatively impacts our environment. Extensive waste puts an extra amount of pressure on our garbage disposable system and we end up dumping them in sea or land which results in different kind of pollution. For example, extensive dumping of garbage has pushed many species to extinction or made them deformed. Therefore, producers should avoid over packaging.

This analyses establishes that less packaging of products not only reduces the cost but it also save the environment, hence mutually beneficial for consumers and producers. I believe it's the responsibility of the producers to not waste money in over packaging as it doesn't have any effect on product's performance and it will be a good step in the direction of saving the environment.