Do you think consumers should avoid over-packaged products or is it responsibility of the manufacturer?

Nowadays it is a frequent practice to over-package the goods by manufacturers. But due to over packaging problems like wastage and high cost arises. This essay will discuss who should be more responsible for solving over-packaging problems.

First of all, a consumer should be aware of the facts that he is paying for the additional packaging which will be of no use once teared apart. For instance, electronic accessories are often over packed and that packaging is never used once the product is taken out from the box. This leads to the excess waste which is harmful to the environment. Another example of over-packaging is fast food chains. Fast food chains nowadays give packaged food even when dining in the restaurant.

Secondly, as a producer of goods, one needs to invest in packaging materials, trained labor. This process also adds time to the total manufacturing time, thus decreases the productivity of a manufacturing unit.After all that, the price of the product must be reasonable in today's competitive world, thus directly affecting the profit window of the producer.

Overall, in my view, both consumer and manufacturer should be axiomatically responsible for using least packaging material.

Because over packaging is neither cost-effective nor usable and moreover it is harmful to the atmosphere.