Do you think consumers should avoid over packed products or it is the responsibility of product producers to avoid extra packaging of products?

In recent times, there is an ongoing disputation on overpackaged products, and it inevitably ignited a controversy. Even though multitudinous proponents hold a view that it is the responsibility of consumers alone in avoiding overpackaging of products, I vehemently oppose the view, and I strongly concur that it is the responsibility of both producer as well as the consumer.

Firstly, overpackaging is inextricably linked to promoting the product. Therefore, if consumers avoid the products that delve into promoting, the usage of packaging reduces considerably. Moreover, if consumers prefer products that are based on quality, rather than the looks of the product, producers may try to improve the quality. Thus, it is not only beneficial to the environment, but it is also advantageous to the consumer himself. So, consumers must be vigilant in avoiding products that use overpackaging as a resort to attract buyers.

In addition, producers also must take the environment into consideration while designing the products. Since packaging is primarily decided by the creators, they have the onus in planning it to reduce it as much as possible. Furthermore, producers must look into other means to capture the buyer's attention. For example, they can provide extravagant offers, better advertisement, and improve the quality of the product rather than resort to overpackaging. Thus, both consumers and producers must work in unison to reduce the overpackaging.

To conclude, since overpackaging leads to a myriad of environmental problems including pollution and deforestation, I firmly believe that both producers, as well as consumers, should take responsibility in avoiding the overpackaging. Moreover, the government should also pass regulations to make the transition feasible.