Effective learning requires time, comfort and peace so it is impossible to combine study and employment. Study and employment distract one from another. To what extent do you think the statementsare realistic? Support your opinion with examples.

For one to achieve outstanding results in their studies not only a conducive studying environment which is comfortable and peaceful is required but one is required to allocate enough time for studying. Combining a schedule of schooling and work is a tall order which often stresses the student and makes them underperform in their school work. This essay will discuss how work can hinder effective learning.

Studying can be very involving depending on the course one is undertaking.To keep up with the course work and with the other students, one has to be committed to studying for lengthy periods of time. For example, teachers often task their students with group work, assignments and term papers as part the course syllabus and in order for a student to complete this they would have to only focus on studying without participating in any distracting work. For this reason, it is always best for a student to commit all their time on their school work.

In addition to this, studying also involves exams and continuous assessment exams. It is a well known fact that to perform well in exams, practice is key and one has to commit a lot of self-study time to go through all of his previous learning before test time. For example, research has shown that students who go through each days study in the same evening perform in the top 10% of their class. Therefore, it is prudent that students give their time to studying in the evening instead of working in order to perform well in their class work.

Effective learning is time consuming and requires one to be fully focused on the objective of limiting distractions which take them away from studying. In my opinion, it is therefore wise that students dedicate their time to studying and focus on completing their school work. Work can be done during their term breaks.