Effective learning requires time, comfort and peace, so it is impossible to combine study and employment. Study and employment distract one from another. To what extent do you think the statements are realistic? Support your opinion with examples.

In recent years, the phenomenon of effective learning and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of employment is beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both positive and constructive by a number of individuals. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that employment during study can be a plus, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, the combination of work and study teaches student time management and task priority skills which are the crucial abilities employers look for once they leave school. For instance, 88% of graduate students who found full-time jobs shortly after leaving universities has experience working part-time or casual during their studies according to the report released by University of New South Wales. Hence, work and study do not influence one another negatively, but encourage students to step out of their comfort zone and learn essential soft skills which are both beneficial for their future employment.

Furthermore, some courses require work experiences to enhance student’s understanding of theories and principles, which include engineering, nursing and hospitality. According to one of my survey which I conducted during university, 74% of nursing students are benefit from the compulsory internships which ask them to work over two days a week while completing their degrees. Thus, such internships allow students to apply what they learned in class and prepare them to leave universities as skilled and experienced employees.

In conclusion, although it is impossible to deny the fact that occupation and education can influence one another, it is virtual for students to learn to be independent, as well as applying knowledge learned in books and lectures to reality. Governments and schools should make corresponding policies and invest additional funds in promoting various work and study programs for different subjects.