.The food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays foods are transported from various places to reach final customers. While some people believe that our environment and economy will benefit from just eating foods produced locally, I completely agree that actually the drawbacks of this opinion far more outweigh the advantages.

There is no doubt that just consuming local food favors local environment and economy. By consuming foods originally from the local, less long-distance transportation will be needed to carry foods travelling, and the local foods are more likely to be fresher. As a result, local transport system could be improved due to the less traffic so that people can enjoy better quality of the air as well as the public transport. On the other hand, with the decrease in the cost, the foods from local market can be less expensive, which can improve the standard of living for local inhabitants. Finally, local agricultural manufactures can earn more profit and expand with less competitors and contribute more tax for local government.

Even though some merits of this suggestion mentioned above, there are still worrying disadvantages need to be taken into consideration. Firstly, local food producers could possibly just grow one or few kinds of food to maximize profit, which can lead to a less diversified agricultural structure. In this way, farmers and groceries can be vulnerable to unfavorable natural conditions or market fluctuations. Secondly, it can be harmful to the environments if the places are not suitable for developing agriculture, such as in shortage of water or poor soil condition. Finally, a market, without enough competition, could demotivate the producers to pursue better quality of foods by investing advanced technology and innovation, and this can have negative effect on local economy.

In conclusion, although it is true that there are some good points of encouraging people to consume local foods for our environment and economy, I would argue that the negative effect can have more effect.