‘Governments should provide free healthcare to everyone in society.’ How far do you agree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience.

These days, the question of implementing free healthcare services for all citizens has become the subject of considerable controversy. Despite widely supported opinion that such a social influential concept could ensure the principle of equality in society and people's inherent right on healthy life, this essay will prove that providing any free of charge medical aid is too expensive and demanding for government budget, let alone impairment of the quality of provided services.

To begin with, the free healthcare system could have a remarkably detrimental impact on the overall socio and economic environment of the nation. Generally, these services are run by the government through payroll taxes you pay. Being extremely expensive, they can take up to 40% of state budget and consequently, lead to the shortage in other governmental amenities, such as education. Hence, the next step for authorities is unavoidable decision of increase the tax for everyone.

In addition, even though every citizen gets access to health care facilities it can noticeably degrade the quality of service provided instead. The number of patients will spike instantly once the health care services get free. Therefore, the doctors and nurses have to work day and night on a busy schedule. This means their goal changes into treating as many patients as possible rather than properly diagnosing them. As a result, the quality of service drastically reduces. Moreover, the free healthcare system makes hospitals busier and results in longer waiting period for your appointment.

In conclusion, in spite of the fact that the concept of providing free medical service for everyone is potentially attractive, its detrimental consequences should not be neglected. I firmly believe that due to the high cost for society and the risk of the significant quality reduction governments should not implement it.