With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

In recent years, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see prodigies discussing the importance of digital media be it an affluent or impoverished nation. Few people believe that the usage of digital materials should be encouraged, while others maintain a view that textbooks must be used in the library. This essay will further elaborate both sides of the argument and come to a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, there are myriad of benefits attributed to the usage of digital materials. Firstly, the most conspicuous one is that digital media is easier to use as compared to textbooks because storing digital media only requires a computer, unlike textbooks which should be stored in shelves in the library and need a lot of space. Another important factor is that accessing digital media requires only an internet connection and laptop. mobile or tablet. Hence, needless to say, digital material is easy to use and access in the long run.

Another pivotal facet of the argument is that the library provides a central point for students where they can access various books related to their subjects or interests. College administration put a lot of effort to keep the library up to date with new books or materials. Library also provides a serene environment where students can study without any disturbance.

To recapitulate from the arguments aforementioned, one can reach out a conclusion that the library provides various textbooks which can be used by students to access a particular subject but the benefits of digital materials are too great to ignore.