With an increase in the number of privately owned vehicles, roads are becoming more congested. What are the measures could both government and individuals take to deal with the situation?

In recent days, there has been a colossal upsurge in the trend to see prodigies discussing the impact of increase in the number of privately owned vehicles and solutions to deal with the situation. Some people believe that government should improve the infrastructure, while others maintain a view that government should levy heavy taxes on private vehicles. This essay would further elaborate both sides of the arguments and come to a plausible conclusion.

To begin with, nowadays, private vehicles are increasing exponentially on roads because people feel comfortable riding their own vehicle. As a result, roads are becoming congested and pollution is rising at an alarming rate. New Delhi, for instance, rated as the most polluted city in India. Lack of proper transportation, improper planning of infrastructure and higher living cost within the city proximity makes people to choose to travel by their own vehicles. In order to curb the usage of private vehicles, government should levy heavy taxes on privately owned vehicles.

Another pivotal facet of the argument is that government should improve infrastructure by enhancing road conditions, building more flyovers, and developing public transport. In addition, government should encourage people to use public transport and provide some benefits for using it. Governments along with private organizations must work in coalition to create the awareness of damages caused by riding private vehicles. Therefore, needless to say, governments should provide proper infrastructure and create awareness among people.

To recapitulate from the arguments aforementioned, one can come to a conclusion that effective planning by government will help to reduce the traffic congestion on roads.