Information revolution has changed the way of mass communication and had some negative effects on individual lives as well on society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of Information revolution changing the way of mass communication, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial change in mass media due to information revolution has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on individual lives and society in recent years. It can be agreed that information revolution has some positive impacts, however, some people claim that it can play a destructive role as well. This essay will elaborate how mass communication helps in keeping people informed and how it can create chaos thus will come to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why mass communication has a positive effect on the society, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that information revolution, which has made mass communication available within a fingertip, has helped make individuals and society much more informed about the events that are occurring around every corner of the world. For instance, with the help of smartphone and internet, anyone can surf for any information and seek for expert help from variable sources all within a short period of time, courtesy to the information revolution.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawback which can overwhelm the benefits of mass communication, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that not only can information revolution create a public opinion based on biased and fake news, but it also can cause chaos in the society by dividing people with the assistance of mass media. As an illustration, xenophobic attitudes towards immigrants are on the rise over the world since the broadcast of negative news has increased in media which has reached ever more people because of the information revolution.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the role of mass communication in keeping people informed is prominent, although the way it can create chaos and divide people should not be overlooked.