Large shopping malls are replacing small local shops in cities and towns In your own experience is it a positive development

Shopping malls have become an integral part of a rising debate in the present world. While proponents of the argument are in favour, however, the opponents are completely against the relevance of having shopping malls in place of small local shops. In my opinion, having shopping malls replace small local shops has more positive impacts than negatives around the globe.

To commence with, there are several arguments in the favour of my belief. The most prominent one is that the shopping malls provide the citizens of the town with more exposure to popular brands and trends. According to research conducted by Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, the people visiting shopping malls had better dressing sense and ideas on what's trending, than people going to small local shops and repeating the same trend. Secondly, the small local shops also can get benefitted by moving in the shopping mall as it attracts more audience thus increasing sales and revenue.

On the other hand, critics may point out that one of the most significant disadvantages of having shopping malls is that it affects small businesses sales and revenue and provides more to big brands. For instance, a survey conducted in India reveals that people started ditching local shops in favour of big brands as soon as a shopping mall opened near them.

To conclude, even when there are numerous demerits associated with having shopping malls in cities, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, and shopping malls have become a crucial part of our life. Therefore, shopping malls should be promoted, while also providing prominent spaces to small businesses in them.