Learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. Is it more positive for their future aspect or have some adverse effects? Agree or disagree?

In these days, people often take a variety of viewpoints when it comes to most daily life issues. To give an illustration, while many people believe that learning a second language at an early age is conducive to children, other holds the opinion that it is not the case. This essay offers some insights in favor of the latter outlook.

There are a numerous reliable grounds that support the belief that learning foreign language at an early age does not offer any benefits to the youngsters. First and foremost, learning a foreign language at a young age is unnecessary and ineffective. This is true because the child is not aware of the benefit of learning a second language and therefore, has no interest and motivation. Without being forced to learn something as abstract as language, it can be argued that the youngsters can make use of their spare time to explore the world around them, which is more conducive.

In addition, ample evidence from a number of studies also suggests that people should not learn a second language unless they practice it frequently. There is no doubt that children would tend to forget the language they learnt in class simply because they have to chance and environment to use it. As such, it turns out to be a waste of time, money and effort. Further, learning language is a daunting and time-consuming task and therefore, refrains the children from taking part in outdoor activities which are more beneficial.

In conclusion, from the above analysis, it is obvious that acquiring a language other than mother tongue at the early age does not hold any merits for children.