The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Whether libraries should not provide their users with expensive media such as videos and software and so forth or not is a matter of controversy among many. some people are of the belief that it is the waste of limited source of libraries to buy such stuff. However, I strongly disagree with the notion put forward since I think we should welcome the changes which stem from modern lifestyle.

It would appear that libraries have a limited budget to buy materials and books. Hence, It is necessary that they only buy books as the primary object of a foundation of libraries is to encourage people to read books. Therefore, expensive hi-tech media such as DVDs should not be supplied by libraries. The reason is that they are expensive in terms of both the materials itself and the gadgets by which they can be used.

However, it does not necessarily follow that the expensiveness of these materials should impede purchasing of them. In fact, It goes without saying that the technology grows rapidly in all aspects of human life. In the same way, these days the usage of the digital version of books are more common these days. Thus, if a human being does not cope pace with this fast-changing world then we will be left behind the benefits that they offer. Moreover, although one could say that they are expensive but a lot of books in the format of PDF can be stored in DVDs or flashes so they still are in a cost-benefit situation.

To conclude, I strongly disagree with the idea that libraries should not provide their users with high-tech media such as DVDs. As a matter of fact, they should encourage people to make use of them more as it is the gifts of modern lifestyle.