The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A school of thought, however, contends that libraries should focus on increasing the collection of the books because the library is meant and renowned to collect the books. This notion, in my opinion, is contentious as technology already changed the meaning to keep, viewing anything extensively. I will ponder on the positive side of the topic with required arguments and examples.

There are myriads of arguments that why libraries should not just focus on physicals books. The preponderant one is that we are living in the technology era where a plethora of ways is available to access the information. Consequently, people do not have time to sit on the couch and read the physical books. For an instance, people love to read books while traveling and it is not possible for everyone to keep carry a different kind of books with them all the time. As a result, if libraries can help them to provide e-books, so the reader would get more choices to access the information whether on a smartphone, laptop or any preferable mean of technology while keeping copyrights and legal constraint in mind.

Another pivotal aspect to support my point is that CD, DVD or computer software can provide a better user experience if anyone tries to explore the information. For example, we humans have a tendency to allure towards different kind of things at a single point in time. However, if digital media helps to attract users with never-ending experience, user feel more touched with the technology which enhances the interest of the users.

In conclusion, as per above-mentioned points and elucidation, one can conclude that with the expansion of technology, the library should update with the latest CD and videos so that it allures the upcoming generation to learn new things in the more systematic way.