Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums and historical sites are considered as a treasure where people can experience and learn about many valuable things. But, it has been noticed that mostly tourists visit these places, rather than local people. Hence, I am going to discuss the reasons for this as well as measures which can make local people to visit these places.

To begin with, museums and historical sites play a crucial role in making someone's more intellectual and sharp because these places provide pragmatic opportunity to people to know many things. Many tourists visit these places due to manifold reasons. Firstly, tourists mostly like to visit these places because they are more interested in knowing history of any country, and these places are the best sources for knowing comprehensively about history whereas local people already remain familiar with the history, thus main reason of ignoring all these places. Secondly, the layout of museums and historical houses is likely to remain unchanged for many years which again constitute these places visually unattractive to the local inhabitants. However, these places always remain a centre of attraction for tourists. For instance, many tourists travel the Taj Mahal, which is one of the seven Wonders of the World, to know more about its architecture.

However, it has been found that local people less likely to visit these places, but with effective initiatives, local people can contribute more to these places in a multifarious way. Firstly, government should aware local people regarding importance of museum and historical sites so that they could know about importance of these places. Secondly, there should be a discount on tickets for local people as a result they can easily go to these places. Lastly, there should be various activities on these places so that native people could enjoy and this will further stimulate them to go there.

In conclusion, local people should know the importance of museums as well as historical sites, because these places not only generate myriad opportunities but also represent an identity of any nation.