Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Local residents today pay less attention to the local museums as well as ancient heritages while foreign visiters is the main income of these place. There are some causes of this neglect of local people and some methods could be proposed to spark interest in museum visit.

Many reasons are attributed to the rarity of local people visit. Firstly, the budget spending on operating the museums was being cut in recent years which leads to escalate the ticket fee. The price of ticket is prohibitively high that overwhelms the average income and going to an exhibition could be considered catering for wealthy class. For example, an exhibition demonstrating the historical leftovers from Vietnamese war may sound gripping to some history students but the ticket fee deter them from enjoying these values. On top of that, people of modern era are overloaded by unprecedented choices of entertainment like amusement park, cinema, entertaining complex. As a result, hardly do people opt museum as an amusing spot. For instance, a family could go to the restaurant or cinema instead of paying visit to museums. To sum up, the relatively high expense and abundance choices of entertainment may the reasons of separating the local visiters from this worthy place.

Several actions could be taken to increase the figure of local visiters. The first solution is to raise funding for the museum in order to remain the diversity of the exhibitions in addition to lowering the cost to enter the museum. Manifold individuals and organizations may enthusiastic with maintaining the ancient values and due to that they would prefer to invest in museums operation. Apart from that, the primary, secondary or high school should promt students interest in discovering the history of nation through lectures and visit to historical places such as museums or ancient sites. Holding vacation in museums also help young children understand the knowledge thoroughly and long lasting. Finally, the museums curators could promote some advertising programs to draw attention from the public. For example, on the independent day, some exhibition with regard to war or soldiers could stimulate many people interest, therefore, convince them to go there to search for companionship.

In conclusion, local people rarely go to museums or historical sites compared to the number of overseas traveller; however, solutions like funding, education, and advertisement could be implied to enhance the amount of local visiters