Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

The vast majority of museums and historical sites are now foreign tourists rather than local people. This essay will delve both the underlying causes and offer possible approaches to draw attention from local residents.

The rarity of local visiters could be attributed to the prohibitively expensive ticket fee in addition to the unpreceded choices of entertainment that is available today. Firstly, the cost of entry fee is escalating over the years in term of the government cut on budget spending on maintaining and operating museums. Indeed, people transfer the sum of money to other needs of society like social welfare, childcare, colledge grants, in other words they do not prioritise the museum which instill the historical values and have the key role to spread the artistic spirit of the artists. For example, in the US, the goverment want to guarantee staff salary along with the explosion in population make many museums face closure due to the limited budget to pay for front-of-house staff so they have less choice except increase the fee expense. On top of that, human have an abundance of entertaining such as cinema, music concert or supermarket, as a result, they might not prefer to go to museum or historical sites that is considered tedious. Few people might seem to show interest and curiosty in their nation culture or history, instead they would be more estatic to engage in shopping or chilling at the bar. To sum up, scarcely do local people pay visit to the museums may linked to the relatively high cost and diversed entertaining choices.

To address the issue, the economic base should be targeted by raising fund from non-profit organisation and with the financial assistance, the museums curators could open more exhibition and gain access to the public. Nowadays, many have concern over the fall in available museums number which can lead to the detrimental culture and history, so that they would be willing to fund and support the museums. For instance, CEOs could go to the SharkTank tv show and seek for investment via convincing investors to contribute to remain the historical values. Besides, in order to spark interest in the public to go to museum to contemplate the pieces of art, executive director of marketing should advertise the exhibition sticked with the name of the acclaimed artists like Picasso, Van Gogh which can effectively drive attention. And widening the content of exhibition demonstated could sound tempting to people. For example, besides the ruins of war, more content could be brought like construction builded by chocolate, instant noodle or maybe match with young children hobby, comics. By and large, the lack of local visiters could be addressed by raising fund from other sources and adding more thing to the galleries.

To conclude, fewer indigenous resident go to museums and historical sites compared to the amount of overseas visiters; however, solutions like raising fund, diversifying the galleries could be implied to encourage local people.