In most of the education systems, students are assessed by written examinations. Do you think it is a good idea or not? (Give your reasons.)

Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this.

Recently, the phenomenon of the evaluation of a student’s performance and its corresponding impact has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the written test is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded thoroughly both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that formal examinations can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

From an educational standpoint, a student’s assessment can provide the society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in the fact that passing a test, as well as failing a test, are inextricably bound up. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment which discovered the oral examination. Thus, beneficial ramifications of both the practical training and continuous assessment apparently can be seen.

Within the realm of the method of evaluation, traditional exams might increase the consequences of the pressure of exams. Moreover, fundamental aspects of getting a good mark relate to this reality that the demerits of a bad performance pertain to cheating in the exam. As a tangible example, a scientific research undertaken by a prestigious university has asserted that the downside of the compulsory education is correlated negatively with the skill development. Hence, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of the academic achievement.

To conclude, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that the benefits of the formal evaluation far outweigh its drawbacks. Not only do the advantages of a time-limited test prove the significance of the fundamental knowledge, but also pinpoint the objective of education implications.