Nowadays, people spend too much time at work to the extent that they hardly have time for their personal life. Discuss.

The effect of people spending too much time at work, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of employees working long hours has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on their personal life. It can be said that people should work long hours, however some people claim that they should have time for personal lives. This essay will elaborate what makes people work longer and the positive effects of creating a work-life balance and thus will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are a number of reasons why people spend too much time at work, but the most preponderant one lies in the fact that employees have job insecurities. For example, studies indicate that people who spend less time at work are often unlikely to get promoted. Furthermore, with robots and artificial intelligence ready to take over the human workforce, it has added an enormous amount of pressure on the employees to perform at optimum levels to and to stay ahead in the race.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that people should allocate time for their personal lives. This is primarily because, by doing so, it helps in improving an employee’s health. For instance, productivity and lower absenteeism was recorded after Apple tailored their work schedule to facilitate an employee’s stress at work and help spend time with their family. Furthermore, a good work-life balance can enable employees to feel more in control of their working life and lead to increased productivity, a happier married life, and improvements in employee’s health.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that working extra hours is prominent to secure their position at the company, although creating a work-life balance should not be overlooked.