Sports and games should not be included in secondary school timetable. Do you agree or Disagree?

The importance of not including sports and games in secondary school timetable, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The influence of inclusion of extracurricular activities has sparked the controversy over the impact of this trend on the secondary school timetable. It can be said that games should be included in the timetable as they have a myriad of benefits for the students. This essay will elaborate how playing sports acts as an important learning environment and how it helps the children focus on their studies and thus will come to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are a number of reasons why sports and games should be included in secondary school timetable, but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that it acts as an important learning environment for children. For instance, a study of 200 children showed that they were able to develop various unteachable skills by participating in sports at school. Furthermore, by playing sports, children develop physical skills, learn to be a team member, learn about play fair, improve self-esteem, and so on. Games and sports, therefore, have to be included in secondary school timetable.

Another key justification to support this notion stems from the fact that participating in sports improves blood circulation in the body which makes the kids mentally agile. For example, numerous studies have shown that children who play sports perform better at school. Furthermore, they are able to study well do mental work better which aids them to excel in the real world. Hence, games and sports should be a vital part of their curriculum.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that games and sports acts as an important learning environment and the way it helps them focus on their studies should be well handled.