Sports and games should not be included in secondary school timetable. Do you agree or Disagree?

The importance of not including sports and games in secondary school timetable, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of inclusion of extracurricular activities has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on the secondary school timetable. It can be agreed that they should be included in the timetable as they have a myriad of benefits for the students. This essay will elaborate how

At the outset, there are a number of reasons why sports and games should be included in secondary school timetable, but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that it acts as a psychological mood booster. For instance, a survey of 100 secondary school children in India revealed that playing games during the course of the day helps them focus on their education. Furthermore, when children have a good mood at school, they tend to go that extra mile to work hard and achieve laurels. Games and sports, therefore, have to be included in secondary school timetable.

Another key justification to support this notion stems from the fact that games and sports help students get scholarships to attend college on sports quotas. For example, a study in the US secondary schools indicated that more than 70% of students who performed well in athletics during their time in school were able to procure scholarships to attend college. Furthermore, obtaining a scholarship for college will be a less burden on their student loans. Extracurricular activities are, therefore, should to be a vital part of their curriculum.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that games and sports help the students to perform well in their education and the way it helps them obtain scholarships to attend college should be well handled.