Should university penalize students for late submission of their work.

The effect of universities penalizing students for late submission of their work which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of penalizing has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on late submission in recent years. It can be said that universities should penalize for late assignments, however, some people claim that penalizing for late submission is incorrect. This essay will elaborate how penalizing students for late submission brings responsibility and punctuality and how penalties for late submission increases anxiety and induces stress among students.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why universities penalize students for late submission of their work, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it brings responsibility and punctuality among the students. Furthermore, it brings a fear amongst students by deducting marks for late submission hence making them responsible and punctual. For instance, UNSW in Australia deducts 25% of the final score for late submission hence students tend to mostly be punctual with their assignments.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential impact of universities penalizing students for late submission, but the most alarming one lies in the fact that it induces stress and anxiety. Furthermore, the pressure from deadlines to finish the assignment on time can have a tragic effect on student’s lives. As an illustration, the suicidal death rate caused due to stress amongst college students have increased to 20% after the introduction of penalties for late submission. Universities penalizing students for late submission of their work, therefore, can play a vital role in student’s education.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that universities penalizing students for late submission is prominent, although the way universities induce stress and anxiety among students should be well handled.