Information revolution has changed the way of mass communication and had some negative effects on individual lives as well on society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The effect of the Information revolution changing the way of mass communication, which was always debatable has now become more controversial. The impact of mass communication has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on individual lives and society in recent years. It can be said that mass communication is a boon to the people, however, some people claim otherwise. This essay will elaborate how mass communication helps to unite people and how has killed productivity amongst youngsters and thus will come to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why mass communication has a positive effect on the society, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that, at time of disaster, it can be used to help one another through various social media platforms, news and radio broadcasting. For instance, in the United States, people helped each other by sharing valuable information during hurricane Katrina which helped save thousands of lives. Furthermore, in mass communication, information rapidly spreads to a vast number of audiences.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawback which can overwhelm the benefits of mass communication, but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that it leads to individualism and kills productivity. For instance, youth and students tend to spend more time on the internet, their phones, and television rather than utilizing their time productively. Furthermore, relationship with their family and neighbours is affected. Mass communication can, therefore, play a vital role in creating individualism and killing productivity which is not good for the society or an individual.

From what has been discussed above, one can conclude that the role of mass communication in uniting people is prominent, although the way it creates individualism should not be overlooked.