The only way to reduce air pollution is to increase the prices of fuels for vehicles. What is your opinion and explain with your own experiences and examples.

Nowadays, whether the only way to cut air pollution is to increase the prices of fuels for vehicles has attracted numerous controversies and drawn the attention from the public. Some people believe that a higher fuel price will hinder the use of vehicles and further cut pollutant, others hold the opposite views. From my perspective, I tend to agree with the latter one. To better articulate, following paragraphs will elaborate reasoning.

First and foremost, there are many reasons why price control on fuel is not the only way to address the problem of air pollution, but the most conspicuous one lies the fact that people do not consider the higher petrol price as an obstacle for driving. Taking an example from me, I am a property manager and vehicle independent. I need to inspect properties and have meeting with clients regularly, which means other means of transports is time-consuming.

Moreover, another way to prevent air pollution that should be considered is the role of governments. As long as people concern, the fundamental source of air pollution come from discharge of carbon dioxide from manufacturing industries. Hence, governments should assume their responsibility to impose tax on the discharge of greenhouse gases. A recent article published by the Economist shows that the imposition of tax on soot by Chinese governments has effectively controlled the emission of greenhouse gases.

In conclusion, I reckon that increase of fuels price is not the only way to reduce air pollution. To tackle this issue, governments and societies need to make a concerted effort to find solutions.