Parents are responsible for the behaviour of the children. To what extent do you agree or disagree

These days, it has been a growing trend to see researchers believing that parents are responsible for their children’s acts. There are both merits and demerits to this trend, although I am fond of the opinion that the former outdo the later.

At the outset, there are a myriad of arguments in favour of my stance. The most conspicuous one is that family is considered to be the first institution where a child learn how to behave in a society. This is because children intent to absorb and intimidate everything which they observe. Not only do parents play an essential role in shaping their children’s behaviour, but they also teach them the moral value such as holding the old in high regard. Thus, all these upsides stand children in good stead when it comes to a good role model.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and believe that parents should not be accountable for the behaviours of their offspring. The primary one stems from the fact that the parental influence is merely one of the numerous factors that could corrupt children’s morale. This is because children spend most of their time with their peers at school during the maturity stage, thus they would be also influenced by external environment. Hence, it is apparent why many are against the responsibility of parents for their children’s acts.

In view of arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite the external factors, parents remain part and parcel of the development of children.