Parents should be held legally responsible for children’s act. What is your opinion?

Recently, the phenomenon of children’s behavior and parent’s responsibility has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that youngster’s actions are not legally related to their parents, such issue is regarded parent’s responsibility by a substantial number of individuals. I profoundly inclined to believe that parents should not be blamed in this regard, and this essay will examine both sides of this view by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

On the one hand, from a social standpoint, there are many reasons why parents should not be held accountable for their off spring’s behavior. Firstly, due to the detrimental effects of social media, such as the Internet, mass media and advertisements, they affect most of the children directly. Secondly, the role of their counterparts could not be overestimated, because students spend nearly half of their days at school. Lastly, according to an academic survey conducted by Tehran University, the impacts of computer games, mostly the violent video games, should be seen as a major role while there is not any control on them by authorities.

On the other hands, opponents argued that parents should be straightly responsible for their off spring’s acts. There is no doubt that parental control could play a pivotal role in children’s upbringing. Moreover, while many children lock at their parents as a role model, it is adult’s responsibility to be a positive and creative example for them. Due to a statistic research conducted by Melbourne University, the negative influences of not sufficient attention from parents could lead to committing a crime by juveniles.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that although parental control can be effective to reduce the harms, I strongly inclined to believe that many social and environmental reasons could be affected children on their path as well.