A recent study has shown that over 50% of school children cannot write legibly. The researchers concluded that the widespread use of smartphones, tablets and computers by children from as young as 12 months old was to blame. We are now living in a “post-paper” world where people are connected to one device or another at all times.

Should schools stop teaching handwriting entirely and focus instead on their typing skills? Is handwriting no longer relevant?

In today’s technological era, there is much debate on whether children should focus on handwriting or typing skills. Some people believe that school should stop teaching handwriting entirely as it is no longer relevant. While others argue that handwriting is more helpful to learn basic things and later utilise in typing skills. I am inclined to believe that school should focus on children’s handwriting even though typing skills have become essential these days. This essay will discuss importance of handwriting and lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, handwriting is a basic tool which school should teach to every child as it is used in many subjects like taking notes, taking tests and doing classroom works and homework for almost every content area. And handwriting plays vital role in their academic performance where poor handwriting can have a pervasive effect on their school performance. For example, when children learn how to write letter “m”, they can learn its sound and attention to linkage among handwriting, reading and spelling skills.

To continue with, when child understands the meaning and sound of each word then they can understand the comprehend and context quickly. Which will allow them to express and present them in better way and somewhere it helps children to develop their brain. Even school should encourage children to write better and conduct competition periodically basis and reward them for good handwriting. For instance, my sister won the State level poem competition when she was in school because of her writing skills and now she is a writer. So, teaching handwriting can open career opportunity for children.

In conclusion, the foregoing discussion propounds the view that although typing skills help children in today’s technological era to survive still good handwriting help them to improve their performance and develop their brain.