Problems and benefits for high school students study plays and works for theatres written centuries ago. Discuss and use your own experience

All poetic genres contain the very essence of their times. These art forms act like mirrors to showing the true images of specific civilizations and centuries. The study of century old dramas and plays by people in their student period in beneficial to understanding human development but its drawbacks cannot be neglected. This essay will discuss both positive and negative sides in detail.

To commence with, the primary benefit of studying drama and other literary genres make students aware about their customs, rituals, traditions, lifestyle of people of yester centuries. This awareness about various communities helps people in understanding of human behaviours and development. For example, famous playwright Shakespeare’s work was neither limited to 16th century nor in country’s boundaries but its appreciated and remembered by all people in every century. In addition, youngsters become aware about the foolishness done by people of specific culture and learn lesson to avoid such things. Thus, literature teaches student to walk on right path.

On the flip side, studying literature during student career is considered total wastage of time and energy. In the world of cut throat competition, students are required to pay more attention and excel in modern sciences these days which eventually help them to be outstanding in academics and later in professional fields. For instance, Kalpana Chawla spent her time to gain more knowledge in scientific research instead of studying romantic and tragic literature during her student career and she excelled in science field and left her mark not only in the world but also in the universe.

In conclusion, the forgoing discussion propounds the view that studying literature in school and college can be fruitful for personal growth, but bad impacts of literary cannot be ignored. A balanced teaching approach is required to have more benefits of classical writings.