As a result of advances in medical care. average life expectancy is increasing for men and women. Do you think most people wilt see this as a positive development What are the disadvantages of an ageing population for individuals and society? Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

In today’s world, with the development in medical technology average life expectancy is increasing for both genders. This implies that the percentage of older people are now increasing in all countries. Ageing has both positive and negative impacts to the society and here I’m going to discuss my views on above matter.

To begin with, it is a well-known factor that population aged over 60 years is increasing day by day in all parts of the world. In earlier days the average life expectancy was around 60 years while now it is around 75 years for both genders. This is mainly because of the huge development in medical sector.

I personally believe this is as a positive development and also it has more good influences to the society as well. These senior citizens are filled with lots of valuable experiences which can share to the younger generation. Grandfathers or grand mothers are capable of developing young minds in good ways by using their own life experiences which my grandmother did. In decision making points elderly people are the best resource persons.

In contrast, maintaining a large number of elder people is a huge burden for a country which is also an extra cost for that government. On the other hand, some people believe it is as a waste. For example, in Japan now ageing become a problem. With the huge development in medical sector now Japan is coming to its limit of elder population.

To conclude, the rise in average life expectancy as a result of modern developed health facilities has both advantages and disadvantages.