Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Some people argue that older employees should not continue their work whereas others believe senior citizens have to continue their jobs to reduce the financial load upon the nation. However, in my perspective, they should be taken as advisors.

Firstly, every person learns lesson from their work experiences and one knows the procedures to follow to increase the efficiency at works. Provided that older workers are engaged as advisors, young employees have an opportunity to move forward conveniently by escaping all the arena of difficulties which were solved before by the older workers. For instance, in a IT company of Japan where all the retired workers are involved as advisors are able to contribute by suggesting the youths the straight way of achieving the task which are merely possible in absence of these advisors.

Secondly, it is a tribute to older workers if they are regarded as advisors. For a country to remain prosperous, I believe, its older citizens have to be cheerful. As long as retired employees are considered as advisors, they will be engaged and remain happy. In an online survey conducted amongst ten thousands people aged above sixty five, it is found that eighty percent of them work as an advisors in the same sector from where they had retired and they want to continue the post until their health hinders.

In a nutshell, age should not be obstacle for people who `are interested to continue their work; however, it is wise to decrease the work load and hours per week tributing their age.