Should marketing for consumer goods companies like clothing and food focus on reputation or short term strategies like discount and special offers? and in what ways this can impact reputation? why?

There is an ongoing debate about whether companies should promote on brand value or short term strategies like discount and special offers. In my opinion companies reputation and short term strategies like discount both have their own significance and i will discuss my views on the same.

Firstly, when a company is well reputed in certain industry like food or clothing, there is no need to promote the brand. There are many brands i never seen promoting their brand on any media source. For example, If we take clothing brands like Diesel and gas, they occasionally promote.

Foremost, Companies that are reputed will offer discount and special offers. Those who are interested to buy such brand clothing. In fact, these offers can attract and sales will be more. so, people once they used to interest in the brand they will try it again and again. If reputed companies frequently promoted with discounts that will give negative feeling to people on the brand. It can also decline the value of company.

This essay discussed the positive and negative impacts of marketing, Even reputed companies must come up with discounts and offers sometimes but not frequently which will damage their reputation.