Should University penalize students for late submission of their work?

Over the past few years, there has been a high degree of the ambivalence over this matter, whether the universities should penalize students for late submissions. This has elicited a stimulated disputation among the public. Whereas some skeptics say that universities should not penalize students for late submission, I sanguinely believe that they should. This essay will further discuss reasons to support this notion and then deduce a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are myriads of reasons to support this notion, but one of the most compelling reason is that if students are not penalized for late submission, they will treat the project casually and that would likely to delay the submission.

On the contrary, there are skeptics who conjecture that students should not be penalized for the late submission. As there is the time when problems would arise, and students may not get time to finish the project. Hence, there should be an option of getting one extension of a few days.

After analyzing the above facts I would like to recapitulate that some students can be given an exception in special cases, but if Universities do not penalize for the late submission than students tend to do that more frequently. Hence, it is necessary to penalize the students for late submission.