In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory. Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting?

In recent times, the phenomenon of compulsory voting and its corresponding impacts have sparked a heated debate around the world. Although contested by many that the matter of mandatory voting is highly beneficial, such issue is regarded as both constructing and consequently positive by a substantial number of individuals. However, I am inclined to believe that the voting process should not be compulsory, and I will explain my point by discussing both sides of the argument.

At the outset and from a general standpoint, many people are of the opinion that if casting a vote is made mandatory by everyone then it will ensure maximum participation in the polls. Also, it will bring awareness about the politics in the country or state. For example, according to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed an academic experiment in which I discovered that mandatory voting results in better political outcomes and it helps in choosing the right leaders. Thus, the beneficial ramification of both everyone’s participation and better outcomes can be apparently seen.

Within the realm of democracy, everyone has the right to decide if they want to cast their vote because people have myriad thoughts such as less trust in the voting process and unawareness of right candidate to vote for. To illustrate, research conducted by a prestigious university has asserted that if people have the liberty to vote then it increases their trust in government. Thus, it is correct to presume the preconceived notion of this remarkable phenomenon.

To recapitulate, while there are several compelling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that voting should not be a compulsion for anyone and people’s decision of not being part of a voting process should be respected. Not only the freedom of casting a vote proves the significance of demorcary but also pin-point thorny issues potential implications.