Some people think that it would be better for large companies and
industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centres.
Others believe that companies and industries should remain in
more urban areas.
Cities are growing and so are regional centres due to expanding
populations and the need for places for people to work and live. Some
people think that companies and industries should move to regional
centres while others think that they should remain in the cities. I believe
that the best idea is for regional areas to be developed and that companies
and industries should move out of the cities.
A move by companies and industries to regional areas will take some of
the working city population with them. This has the advantage of relieving
city overcrowding and the pressure on the infrastructure that is already
stressed. For example, taking manufacturing plants to regional areas
creates work and encourages families to live and work in these centres. In
my mind, relieving the crowding in cities is a sensible and practical solution
to many urban issues.
To reduce pollution and keep cities cleaner and healthier it is a good idea
to encourage companies to move and operate in regional areas.
Traditionally, many industries and companies set up business
headquarters in the city, but as time has changed the need to be city
based has diminished. For example, car-manufacturing plants no longer
need to be based in urban areas, and are able to relocate to well
supported regional areas taking with them associated pollution problems.
For a healthier city it is good that industry and companies move outside of
the city.
This essay has argued that moving companies and industry to regional
areas may be practical and create healthier cities. In my opinion, relocating
companies to these developing regional areas will benefit those who work
for these businesses and the cities that they leave behind.