Some people think that it would be better for large companies and

industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centres.

Others believe that companies and industries should remain in

more urban areas.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you

chose that position. Support your point of view with details from

your own experiences, observations or reading.

Cities are growing and so are regional centres due to expanding populations and the need for places for people to work and live. Some people think that companies and industries should move to regional centres while others think that they should remain in the cities. I believe that the best idea is for regional areas to be developed and that companies and industries should move out of the cities.

A move by companies and industries to regional areas will take some of the working city population with them. This has the advantage of relievingcity overcrowding and the pressure on the infrastructure that is already stressed. For example, taking manufacturing plants to regional areas creates work and encourages families to live and work in these centres. In my mind, relieving the crowding in cities is a sensible and practical solution to many urban issues.

To reduce pollution and keep cities cleaner and healthier it is a good idea to encourage companies to move and operate in regional areas. Traditionally, many industries and companies set up business headquarters in the city, but as time has changed the need to be city based has diminished. For example, car-manufacturing plants no longer need to be based in urban areas, and are able to relocate to well supported regional areas taking with them associated pollution problems. For a healthier city it is good that industry and companies move outside of the city.

This essay has argued that moving companies and industry to regional areas may be practical and create healthier cities. In my opinion, relocating companies to these developing regional areas will benefit those who work for these businesses and the cities that they leave behind.