Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a conception in some people that there should be a sense of competition in children while others feel that children should be taught to mingle and co-operate with others to be more successful. The below passage will discuss on the pros and cons of both the sides.

In most of the schools, there are competitions conducted among pupils to identify their talents, which helps the teachers to find out an efficient way to help those students. Pupils on the other hand take this at a serious note and start competing with each other. The one who doesn't win feels demotivated and inferior when compared to others. They tend to get this motive of comptetition at a very young age and it goes on and on. This makes students treat their fellow students as competitors than friends, which creates a negative impact on their minds, thereby, not helping to form a friendly ambience.

In contrast, pupils who are taught to co-operate with others prove to be more effective than the latter as there is enormous amount of team work involved. Students tend to share information and help each other in this approach. This methodology helps them to be more effective and successful. Plenty of schools have started this technique of dividing the team into groups and ask the students to perform together in case of a competition. This team work activity has helped students in interaction and to listen to what the other person has to say.

In my opinion, children at their young age needs to be taught on how they should work with others rather than competing with others. These traits that they get at this age will stay with them always, which moulds the students to be more successful and achieve more.